• Liked the 3rd one

• Liked the 4th one

• Liked a couple of them

Results are only viewable after voting.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well ok, here is goes..Remember this is MT and not one of the " other " sites, so keep the name calling polite..I was recently involved in a discussion about the Karate Kid movies..I shocked the others involved when I made the statement that I DISLIKED all the Karate Kid movies, even the Next Karate Kid with Hillary Swank, most were stunned..Is there anybody here that also disliked them? I have NO DESIRE to see the next one either...

Last edited:

Blade96

Senior Master
Reaction score
I loved the first one (which i bought and watched like last week or so) and which I think is cute. I thought Daniel LaRusso (Daniel-san) was pretty sweet. (You just wanted to put him in your pocket and take him home as your own little son.) And I really loved kindly and wise Mr Myagi.

even though as a real karate student I know parts of the movie were not realistic.

Havent seen the other movies though.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Well, I don't think anyone would argue that the movies are great in the 'movie art' sense. Because they weren't. There was some cheesy overacting in all of them.

That said the movies (especially the first one) resonated with a great many youngsters in the eighties. You've got the classic underdog (dork) kicking butt and getting the girl in the end. You've got some funny fortune cookie wisdom doled out in perfect fashion by Pat Morita. The movie probably got more than a few people to sign up for martial arts. I know I did as a teenager.

SahBumNimRush

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Well to be honest, the original Karate Kid was what inspired me to start studying martial arts when i was a child (I was 4 years old when that movie came out). I think that The Karate Kid was one of the few martial arts films to convey some of the aspects of martial arts beyond the kicking and punching aspect.