The history of Korean Martial Arts?

geocad

Green Belt
Reaction score
I should be working but this website has some really great reading entertainment. So, I am inspired to ask all those more knowledgeable than myself these questions.

1. How far back does Korean Martial Arts go (which dynasties)?
2. Which styles were developed from others? By whom? and when?

I am a very visual person so graphs and charts work best for me.
3. Is there a 'Family Tree' of Korean Martial Arts that answers my question above? If so, please post a link. If not but you know, please respond.

Years ago I studied HRD and was told that it's history goes back about 2K years. I was also told that many other KMAs (Tae Kwon Do, Hopkido, etc...) were developed from people who can be traced back (their instructors instructor and so on) to the 2000 year old Hwa Rang. I was once given an analogy that if Hwa Rang Do is the 'Great Grandfather' then Tae Kwon Do is like a great nephew to the Hwa Rang.

4. So, if the Hwa Rang can be traced back to the Silla 2000 years ago (and truely is the oldest), what is inbetween the then Hwa Rang and now Tae Kwon Do, Hopkido, etc...?

I'm not disputing what my former instructors and master taught me. That would be disrespectful. I'm just curious to know what others know of Korean Martial Arts history.

Thanks for the history lesson I'm about to receive!

Dave Leverich

Black Belt
Reaction score
One, two, three, not it!

It's a long path to enlightenment on this subject, I'm still very much walking down it and finding what I can.

Ninjamom

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
How much do you want to know, and to what depth? Prepare for a bewildering array of legend, myth, and acrimonious debate!