The Funniest Safety Video Ever Made **Warning Graphic Material**

Phil Elmore

Master of Arts
Reaction score
As a technical writer I have worked in many industrial environments, dealing with engineers and manufacturing personnel and making my way through many warehouses and plants in order to get information I needed. One of the constants in the industrial unvierse is that lift truck (forklift) drivers are all -- to every last man and woman -- completely contemptuous of human life. "You takes your chances," as they say, when you work or walk around such machinery and those who pilot it. My father was an engineer who became assistant plant manager of a factory before he became a technical writer. He, too, warned me of lift truck drivers and the danger they presented to hapless passers-by.

industrialphil.jpg

Recently, my friend Lyman found for me a video that had me dying of laughter in my cubicle. It is the funniest thing I have ever seen. Apparently a German lift truck safety video, it goes from boring in-house training piece to hilarious Monty Python-esque horror movie in what seems like several minutes into the film.

home.astrakan.hig.se/sax/rokka/files/staplerfahrer_klaus.wmv

For those of you who cannot do video or who would like to make avatars and such from this hilarity, the star of the film is this happy-go-lucky fellow, whom we'll call German Forklift Guy:

forklift00.jpg

German Forklift Guy helpfully tries to lift a coworker to a high shelf using a wooden pallet. The coworker, predictably, falls. A safety bell on the wall rings; then a German ambulance ferries the poor worker to the hospital.

German Forklift Guy is minding his own business thereafter, raising a load with the lift truck, when a utility knife left unsecured on the load falls into the skull of its owner:

forklift01.jpg

Not to be deterred, the endlessly cheerful German Forklift Guy is throwing the thumbs-up to anyone who'll notice...

forklift03.jpg