The Essence of Meaning...

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
First of all, let me preface the following with the fact that, at present, I am a high school teacher and these questions have raged in my mind my entire career. Now, I stand at the brink of quitting my profession and I feel like I just need to throw this out there to get as many opinions as possible.

What is meaning? What makes things meaningful? And, lastly, for the brave, what kinds of things did a teacher do to help you find meaning or make something meaningful?

I'm giving this simple assignment in class today. I don't know if some of my students are mature enough to handle it, but I've been surprised before. I enjoy being surprised.

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score
What is meaning
Any Dictionary can give you this however I do not think you are looking for a defination but something deeper. In its true essence meaning has no meaning it is thought that arises that bridges the gap between meaning and no meaning.

What makes things meaningful
Perception and view of belief that it is illusion or real.

lastly, for the brave, what kinds of things did a teacher do to help you find meaning or make something meaningfu

By seeing that meaning and no meaning are the same coin different side.

Errant108

Purple Belt
Reaction score
They all melt down the back of your neck & get your underwear wet.

Steel Tiger

Senior Master
Reaction score
I was a long way through my formal education before I got any inkling as to an answer to this sort of question. It came in the form of a university lecturer who introduced me to epistemology, the theory of knowledge.

At its most basic level it posits three questions:
What is knowledge?
How is knowledge acquired?
What do people know?

The theory further suggests that knowledge is the resultant intersection between what people believe and the truth. That small mysterious place between these two is knowledge.