The Depths of Honesty

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Some people I speak with would rather be frankly, totally, even brutally honest than refrain from speaking, evade revealing their true leanings or gracefully lie.

Others feel it can be appropriate to guard one's true leanings in the interest of protecting another's feelings or perhaps learning more (sometimes this can even change one's point of view).

In your opinion, is there such a thing as a white lie or are all lies damaging? Is holding one's tongue considered lying or does it depend on the situation?

Please express and discuss your opinions on the appropriateness of honesty, silence and slight prevarication.

M

Melissa426

I work in healthcare, where I believe complete honesty is vital to providing good patient care.
If someone asks," is this gonna hurt?," the answer is "yes, but it may not be so bad depending on your pain tolerance. "
I have been asked by family members to lie to relatives about their condition...
"don't tell Grandpa that Grandma has cancer, it will only upset him."
"don't tell my 16 y.o. daughter she has an STD, don't you know it's prom night!"

At TKD the other night, I got kicked in the shins by a 12 y.o. but not purposefully. (my shin was in the wrong place at the wrong time)
He asked if I was OK and instead of saying "no, it hurts like he11," I said "I'll be fine, don't worry about it." I evaded his question. Is that dishonesty?

Two days later, I have a bruise the size of Rhode Island --- OK, that's an exaggeration, technically a lie.

When the nice policeman asks me politely, why were you doing 65 in a 50 mph zone, I always tell him the truth.