The Arts in a Martial Artist

OnlyAnEgg

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm a musician and a poet. I've been these things as long as I can remember. I've heard melodies in the winds and found meter and rhyme in kata and kumite. I've heard blood in chord progressions and dissonance in intimacy.

In the small amount of research I've done regarding MA, I've noticed that a number of practitioners also pursue some form of gentler art, not just fighting. I wonder: what do you do to expand your lives through art. Does involvement in the arts enrich your martial field? Does it complicate it? Do your experiences in MA affect your perception of art?

Just curious...

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I am a metal worker/hobbyist. While most of my work consists of rebuilding Chinese style swords, I also make the occasional jewelry or animal figurine...

Navarre

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I wish I could draw well but am only average. I am not motivatedenough to practice.

However I do like to write very much. It is something I enjoy. It is important to me to create something that has meaning and touches the lives of other people.

It is harder to find time to write than to practice martial arts. It is also difficult to find inspiration since I have rejected the influence of my former muse.

Still, a central theme of my writing is how interconnected we all are in this world as well as how the subtleties of our spirits become reflected in our actions.

I find these themes of interconnection and subtleties to be pervasive in my exploration of martial arts. The ability to understand how the myriad facets of the art come together into a cohesive whole is fascinating.