The 30 Day Photography Challenge

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Saw this and thought that it would be interesting. The site is written by some photographer who claims "expert" status. Mebbe they are mebbe they're not, interesting idea considering that he was "self-taught"... so how does that make one an expert? Hmm... Either way the list does have some interesting challenges and I think the trick would be to find an original approach to each of them.
http://www.expertphotography.com/30-day-photography-challenge

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score
I don't think expert means what it used to. I see expert martial artist today that hold ranks I am no where close to, and I've been studying longer than they've been alive. Though it could be I'm just incredibly dense and slow :)

How does one decide they are an expert photographer?

OP
MA-Caver

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Well, IMO anyone who is "self-taught" is no more an expert than I am a professional cave explorer... I am an expert cave explorer because I've received training from other certified experts and been doing it for well over 35 years. I learned there is only a single difference between expert and professional in that pros merely get paid for their work. I don't get paid for caving (well, okay I DID at one time, albeit briefly). I think if I were "self-taught" I'd probably be dead by now. Then again, caving is a considerably more dangerous hobby than photography... unless the guy willingly gets into war-zones or hurries to police calls he picks up on his scanner.

But what do you all think of his list? Would you say that is a fair challenge?

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Cool! Ima link this on my Facebook page.

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score