Testing for the sake of Testing?

hailstone

White Belt
Reaction score
So, I'm relatively new to martial arts and in what may be a rather unusual situation. I am practicing taekwondo at college in a student-led club and have been since the beginning of freshman year. It takes about 3.5 years to earn a black belt in our system and so the students normally teach during their senior year and earn a black belt halfway through. For testing, we drive to a dojang 5 hours away where we test under an 8th degree black belt. I have great respect for our Idaho instructor, he works as a public school English teacher, charges less for testing fees than most of the other schools in our association and, based on the stories he has told of his training, is most certainly deserving of the rank.

My freshman year, I trained under a graduate who decided to stay in town, so I was just starting and learning from someone who had been training for 4.5 years--a pretty wide experience gap. The summer after that year, I continued to train with some friends of mine who had also taken up martial arts while at college. I have tried to learn a little bit about a new martial art every summer while I cannot train with my regular taekwondo class. I am now a Junior and my current instructors have only 6 months of experience beyond me (or 3 months less since they do not train over the summers). At this point, I feel that though I continue to train, I am not improving at the same rate that I would under an instructor who had been training for much longer than I have (or even twice as long). Thus, I have stopped going to tests.