Techniques for Learning to Balance When Doing Roundhouse Kicks?

boba7523

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I just started learning muay thai a couple months ago and my kicks are still very weak. I also have a hard time maintaining balance after doing the kick and going back to stance. Do you guys have any technique on how to balance on the pivoting leg?

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
Stretch.

No, really. Thats one way of doing it in a short timespan. Just dont overdo it.

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I just started learning muay thai a couple months ago and my kicks are still very weak. I also have a hard time maintaining balance after doing the kick and going back to stance. Do you guys have any technique on how to balance on the pivoting leg?
Lower center of gravity while pivoting, and more strength in the legs will do wonders.

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
A couple of tricks I have my trainees do:
1. Stand on one leg (heel Off floor), hook opposite foot behind standing leg knee. Flex standing leg's knee. Simulate the kick movement with the rest of the body with foot hooked behind knee. Pivot and twist the body same as kicking and then pivot back to forward position. Work to pivot the standing foot 180 degrees and back. This exercise will help strengthen the pivot, the standing leg & foot and help the recovery of the kick action.

2. You need a partner for this. Every part of this exercise is important. This exercise is done slowly and no power.