Stepping Back in Order to Go Forward

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Stepping Back in Order to Go Forward. Right now, as a artist, I've found that, because I was easy on myself and did not spend the long hours doing the basics of oil and acrylic painting, that I have had to face a substantially diminished quality of my finished product (a painting) as I tackle pieces and methods that I skipped in order "to get to the good stuff". As I sit here, in view of my easel with a more complicated, but much less successful painting than I'm used to, I recall the correlations this phenomena I'm encountering as a painter has to martial art's training.

For example, I spent some time during my college years at a commercial TKD school (not bashing TKD, just the limitations of THIS specific school) that rushed students through their forms (those testing fees, and all) and taught advanced techniques the first year. Later, when I entered another Korean style (TSD), I had to spend a year as a white belt relearning the basics correctly. In other words, I had to step back ino order to move forward. Anyone else have the same experience? Thoughts?

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yeah, I have had the same experience. And I really don't think I rushed through things.

But I think that in my early training I missed things. Only by going back and looking at them again did I pick up some small points I overlooked. This is not just a single case of me taking sucha step back.

And I think that as I get better able to see through experience I will find more need to go back and look at my basics and start over again in order to go forward.

Repeat as needed and/or as long as you are alive.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Not unusual at all.