Starting Judo

xJOHNx

Purple Belt
Reaction score
So I'm starting Judo.
Through university we have to follow a sport for people with disabilities. I've choosen Judo. I only have the smallest of experience in it and I cannot recall anything I learned while doing it 12 years ago.

So I'm going to train with a group of mentally disabled people, I have no clue what to expect. But as they have matches and tournaments, I guess it will not be cuddle therapy.

Anything I could do to prepare myself? I do kobudo, so I'm guessing I'm going to recognize some moves from Jinenkan.

+ This is a internship which will prepare me for next year as one of the choosen classes is Judo then. And I'll need to pass green belt to nail the course.

I see alot of fun ahead :)

derobec

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi John,

I can't really offer any sensible advice because I've no experience to match. Maybe, just don't bother 'preparing', you're already training in what appears to be a very sound martial art with good basics so it's probably best just to go in with no preconceived ideas as to how you're going to handle the training. Start at the bottom and work hard.

Sounds like a fantastic opportunity though, I can only wish you the best of luck with it.

Dare I suggest you start a blog on this forum to keep us up to date with the way it all works out. I'm sure a lot of people could gain from your experiences.

Best Wishes,
William

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hey John,