Stances are over rated!

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I know that this will make me very unpopular and there will be quite a few people that will disagree with me but this is how I feel.

But before you send out the lynch mob let me say that I do believe that proper stances are important and a strong foundation is a major benefit.

As a beginner I learned and 'mastered' proper stance and alignment and then moved on to making sure that I can defend myself regardless of my body position and angle. The last thing I want to do if confronted by someone is to jump into a fighting stance and escalate a problem that isn't necessary. So I feel it's important to be able to fight from a relaxed standing or sitting position (appearing to be non aggresive). I wouldn't want to have to ask my opponent to wait a second while I adjust my fighting stance because my toe's are out of alignment.

Anyway these thoughts came to me while training with a guy in Las Vegas recently. He's a black belt with almost 20 years experience but kept interupting the work out because his "stances were just off a bit".

Just some thoughts I have. Now let the attacks begin.
icon12.gif

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Stances, like any other technique, have their good and bad points. As you said, proper stances teach balance, provide a strong foundation, and how to move and balance. Doing stances correctly requires on-going practice, as little errors creep in constantly, and have to be corrected before they become bigger errors - or worse, ingrained bad habits.