Stamina

kersme

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone...I've been doing WMA for a year now, but im not happy with my stamina, or endurance...and i was wondering what i could do about it. someone mentioned the skipping rope. Is to build up stamina without running?

Thanks.

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings Kersme,

Welcome to Martial Talk.

Jumping rope will help you build stamina.

Try this link:
WebMD Jump Rope

When I went back to MA for training I would lose gas so fast. One of the instructors suggested jump ropes. Just make sure you have a good spot for jumping rope. I prefer a dance floor (springy floor boards).

Swimming also helps. Do a few laps for 10 minutes and slowly work your way up to 30 minutes. For me going by time helps me more than judging by how many laps I do. Plus I like playing in the water.
icon10.gif

claireg31

Orange Belt
Reaction score
hi
i've been doing TSD for over three years now and i've found both skipping and jogging have helped me with my stamina, when i'm doing either i usually add in short bursts of speed, this has helped now end.
its a long term proccess and won't happen overnight(obviously), its something i've become to enjoy, i hated any kind of sport when i was younger, now i'm in my early 30's i really do enjoy it
claire

meth18au

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hey Kersme,

As already mentioned, jumping rope is a great way to start off. I'd personally be looking to do it on padded floor where possible- it just tends to take some of the impact out of it.

Use a timer and do timed rounds. Let's say 3 minute rounds- with each minute you increase your intensity in the skip. Make a circuit out of it as well. Do 3 minutes skipping in this manner, then drop and do 50 sit ups, then another 3 minute round of skipping, then do 20 squat jumps, then continue skipping etc etc. Other exercises you could throw between the skipping rounds include push ups, squats, frog leaps, shadowboxing, step-ups or lunges.