Sparring question

Faye

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm a beginner in sparring, and I'm very stuck. When facing a much taller opponent, how can I avoid those head punches? I'm not fast enough, by the time i concentrating to guard my head, he lands a mid section kick.
Also, what do i do when people grab my leg after a kick? Am i too slow?

Marginal

Senior Master
Reaction score
Keep your hands up, and try to hold your elbows so that they don't flare outwards. Keep them inside so that you're covering your middle somewhat as well. Best way to avoid the head punches is to keep moving so they can't set themselves and fire. Along those lines, try to move to the side rather than backwards as that's an invitation for a kick of a flurry.

Also when they punch at your head, kick 'em. A front kick, a side kick etc can work wonders here. Odds are, they won't have their hands in position to grab your leg or block if they're busy punching, and the countercan potentially disrupt whatever followup they had planned.

Speed's probably a factor too, but if all else fails, try to replay the sparring session in your mind and look for patterns and/or openings that you might have missed. Your sparring partners are probably trying to make a point when they tag you with specific things.

The Kai

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Work the reach difference to your favor. My teacher was shorter than me- when i git close enough to punch he used his kicks to offset me. At his hand range i was to close to punch!

Tony

Black Belt
Reaction score
I remember when I sparred with thi guy much taller than me I kept slappin him in the face. Do keep moving, learn to duck, bob and weave in and out of his punches. Learn to read him by looking at his eyes as this usually gives away your intentions.