Sparring Practice?

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've been training in Sil Lum Kung Fu for 21 months, 2 group classes a week at 1 - 1 1/2 hours per class. I love it and want to develop my sparring techniques more. We don't spend time sparring every class. Because of schedules and such I really don't have anyone I can practice with outside of class time.

I'm considering purchasing a mook jong (or construction plans) but have never used one before. Would this be something that would help me implement what I'm learning in class? Seems like I'm still at the stage where when it comes time to spar, technique goes out the window and I end up pretty much kickboxing. I want to practice strikes, traps, blocks, followups, kicks and angling.

How do you use a mook jong? I think an accompanying video would be helpful to get me started except I want to practice techniques from my style and not another art, and how do I know which design would be most effective in training my techniques? Does it even matter? Sorry if these are stupid questions. I really don't know much about it and have a strong desire to improve my sparring, just don't know how to practice without a partner.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
:asian:

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Sil Lum TigerLady said:
I'm considering purchasing a mook jong (or construction plans) but have never used one before. Would this be something that would help me implement what I'm learning in class? Seems like I'm still at the stage where when it comes time to spar, technique goes out the window and I end up pretty much kickboxing. I want to practice strikes, traps, blocks, followups, kicks and angling.