SKK Shodan returning after 10 year layoff

08Neely

White Belt
Reaction score
Grettings all, first post on the board.
My brief bio - I'm 37 years old and 12 years removed from my Black Belt test in 1995. I studied with a highly regarded studio in the Villaris system in the suburban Boston area.
I moved to Arizona in 1997 and discontinued my studies as I was getting close to my 2nd Dan.
Long story short here I am 10 years later looking to get back into it.

The closest thing I have found is these USSD studios.
Close to the same system with some minor changes.
The instructor is passable (2nd Dan), I have already taken 2 classes and even 10 years gone I still remember quite a bit.

While I might train with them month to month for a short while I do see several things that do concern me.

1 - all the nice threads I see on USSD on the web...not so good.
2 - This Instuctor, while he is decent all he keeps saying is contract contact contact....I mean what the heck?
3- The "Black Belts" while I have met 1 or 2 that are semi-decent practicioners that are worth the belt I have met quite a few that I wouldn't give a green belt to.
4 - These "Red Belts" or whatever they are...I always thought a Blackbelt took 5-6 years to get. At least that was what it took me to get mine going 3 times a week (my instructor was pretty tough).
5 - $250 dollars a month for unlimited groups and one 30 min Private (or semi private if you ask me). If you sign on the dotted line for 24 months it drops to $185.
If you quit before the term is up you are liable for the amount of the discount for the remaining term of the contact. Ouch
No programs without privates....that is a crock!

So I will likely try this studio for a month - no way I will go under contact though, too much for watered down karate that ignores it's roots.
So would anyone know of a real Villaris studio here in Arizona?