shotokan wrong idea

lonecoyote

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I think from what I've read here and elsewhere that I may have gotten the wrong idea about shotokan. I studied at a dojo for a few months that said they were Shotokan ,Even had a big wall mural that said Shotokan , shut down now, and from what I've read, and heard, we did shotokan karate completely different, and I'm not sure correctly. Lots of spinning kicks, jumping kicks, heck, flying side, jump spin crescent, and when we sparred we were told to concentrate on kicks, don't rush in , and don't block. To be honest, I wasn't really into it, very little punching and not real practical. I think Ive learned the katas fairly correctly (taikyokus and heians) but from what I've read we didn't really do Shotokan. Is this true? Is this a problem? or do I have the wrong idea and shotokan is supposed to be taught the way that dojo taught it?

jeffbeish

Blue Belt
Reaction score
A purest may see several of the karate mush differently than someone who just drops in on a particular school. From what I remember of shotokan it is a hard style, Goju-ryu too in ways, as opposed to the first school I learned on Okinawa. The first few kata appeared to me nearly the same. Shotokan was introduced to Japan via Okinawa and it must have been changed from the original. Since leaving Okinawa/Japan 45 years ago I met several Shotokan people and they had similar thought about the differences as me.

mcjon77

Orange Belt
Reaction score
lonecoyote said:
.... we did shotokan karate completely different, and I'm not sure correctly. Lots of spinning kicks, jumping kicks, heck, flying side, jump spin crescent, and when we sparred we were told to concentrate on kicks, don't rush in , and don't block.....