shogun doesnt know how to punch properly

martial sparrer

Orange Belt
Reaction score
shogun has been training with Freddie roach

roach was talking about how shogun didn't know to rotate his hips and shoulders, and out weight on his front foot when punching

this to me is crazy!

how are you a fighter for what? 10, 15 years and you have never asked or looked up what proper punching technique is

I am a noob and crap and know nothing...but even I looked it up!

is this about him? about his coaches....or is this the mma fighter? having big holes

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
shogun has been training with Freddie roach

roach was talking about how shogun didn't know to rotate his hips and shoulders, and out weight on his front foot when punching

this to me is crazy!

how are you a fighter for what? 10, 15 years and you have never asked or looked up what proper punching technique is

I am a noob and crap and know nothing...but even I looked it up!

is this about him? about his coaches....or is this the mma fighter? having big holes
Sounds like some one was just patting themselves on the back.
Sean

punisher73

Senior Master
Reaction score
I would chalk it up to the differences in technique between pure boxing (where you dont' have to worry about anything from about mid-torso and down) and MMA. I have often heard boxers talking about how MMA fighters don't know how to punch.

If they are talking about it from a boxing sport aspect, then they are probably right. But, in the context of MMA they are not correct. You can get away with certain types of attacks in MMA that would get you clobbered in pure boxing due to the opponent having to deal with legs, knees, takedowns etc.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
not to mention that a strong athlete can still have an effective punch, even if his mechanics and delivery are less than perfect.

Towel Snapper

Green Belt
Reaction score