Self taught - still a martial artist?/"art" of boxing (info)

B

BaktoBasics

Hi everyone - hope all is well.

Well, I have my BB in TKD, and have had at elast 1 years formal training in fencing and wing chun and afew classes in muay thai.

Now, my life is getting busy. I've hit 22 and work and study take up lots of time, so, I struggle to make it to classes. I also struggle to stick to scheduled class times and find it easier to to train whenever I have time - thus, I do gym 5x per week.

They have a boxing room. If I study boxing techniques, maybe throw in some of those boxercise classes (i know i know, but, at least i'll have someone to hold the bag/mitts so I can practice better)... anyway, if I study bocing techniques, practice them and maybe have the boxercise trainer (who used to be a boxer) let me know if i'm okay - can I still say I train and study boxing???

Anyone recommend good books/ resources on the "art" of boxing?

I wont have formal training ut i'll have someone correct my mistakes as I make them. It's a pain not having time for martial arts class times (I CANT STICK TO SET TIMES) but such is life.

Thanks

The Kai

Master of Arts
Reaction score
If you are looking to stay in shape "self taught" is fine. However, if you want to say you studied boxing, then study boxing. Allthough boxing seems simple ther are plenty of things to learn from a coach

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
BaktoBasics said:

Well, I have my BB in TKD, and have had at elast 1 years formal training in fencing and wing chun and afew classes in muay thai.

Now, my life is getting busy. I've hit 22 and work and study take up lots of time, so, I struggle to make it to classes. I also struggle to stick to scheduled class times and find it easier to to train whenever I have time - thus, I do gym 5x per week.