self defense

xfighter88

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I have been a student of martial arts for 14 years. I have studied Muay thai, BJJ, and TKD. Although I like them all I enjoy TKD the most. I was wondering what other schools do for self defense. My current school does some but having done other martial arts and working at a jail where i need to use martial arts in real situations, I don't feel like the things we have been working on are very effective.

So what does your dojo do for self defense?

TKD'oh

White Belt
Reaction score
We do Hapkido and step-sparring as well.

dortiz

Black Belt
Reaction score
Tae kwon Do is a Self Defense art but maybe not the best for your situation. Its a hard style designed to take out your attacker. You may need more close quarter skills and more importantly not so much self defense as controlling. Hapkido is more in that realm.

Dave O.

OP
X

xfighter88

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I figured it would be mostly hapkito. I like all the wrist locking stuff. I feel like it uses a lot of fine motor movement though. I used to be a bouncer down in Indianapolis at a club and tried it a few times without much success. I suppose it requires more practice than i have spent on it to apply because of the fine motor movements. My Judo and JiuJitsu stuff worked a bit better given that whole limbs are used instead of careful finger placement. I am a pretty big guy though so I usually just man handled folks when the need arises but there is always someone bigger.

thanks for the posts.

Hudson69

Brown Belt
Reaction score
This is kind of unrelated but a friend of mine runs a martial arts school and he offers several different systems of which he holds some type of rank and for people wanting to learn something that does not have belts, takes a relatively short amount of time to become competent in he teaches Krav Maga, including the LE version for local LEO's.