Self Defense with a Cane

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
:wavey:

And you can bring it on an airplane... :)

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've been training with a cane for 7 years now, initially because I wanted a weapon that I could take through customs.

The cane has something of a learning curve -- the basics aren't complex, but the weight is sort of funny and takes a little getting used to. It's also sort of large, a little inconvenient to cart around, especially if you're carrying other luggage.

It has a lot of advantages: long range without sacrificing short range efficiency, striking and controlling options, the 'sucker punch' factor. Plus you can take 'em on airplanes.

The biggest advantage of the cane is the fact that it's non-escalatory. If you approach a situation with a knife or gun, baseball bat, even a kubaton in hand you're likely to escalate that situation just by being armed. You approach with a cane, people are socially programmed to be nicer to you.

Canes are great. My very, very favorite.

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm contemplating studying them a bit... the thread I started a bit ago about Savate/Cane sparked my interest :) Looks like some decent techniques exist...

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I carry my cane whenever I travel, no problems getting through the security screeners..

morph4me

Goin' with the flow
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I carry my cane whenever I travel, no problems getting through the security screeners..

I do the same and have never had a problem, I've never even been asked why I carry it.

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I've practiced using the cane for quite a while now and I would recommend these canes if you are interested.

http://www.canemasters.com/