self-defense restraints on autistic child?

wushuguy

Purple Belt
Reaction score
A social worker recently asked me what kinds of restraints teachers can use for autistic children without hurting them. I know joint lock techniques, but I think doing those may injure a child that resists and doesn't understand to stop. Also I know some holds that may work for her but it may appear overly forceful and very uncomfortable... Does anyone have experience in this area? Also, if there is a way to apply a lock or hold which will not appear to be "over use of force" for the teacher's safety?

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
I work for the Devereux Foundation....we developed the CPI program (crisis prevention and intervention) abd I am a user and trainer in the system.

There are ways to reduce (not eliminate) the risk when a child is in crisis (danger to self or others). Typically, safer holds require a minimum of 3 people...although there are two that can be done with one person...they jsut aren't as secure. Safe holds involve no pressure on joints, no pressure on the chest/diaphgram and carefuol monitoring of vital signs.

The techqniques I know are quite limited in scope, but they work. I've used them more times than i would like (going hands on is what I consider a treatment failure....even if it is necessary).

99% of what most martial artists know (even grapplign based or aikido-like arts) is not safe when used on children and adults with special needs who are in crisis.

Is there soemthing specific you were looking for?

Peace,
Erik

OP
wushuguy

wushuguy

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Great, is there a resource you can point me to, about handling special needs children?
edit:
are there any examples of a single person hold for a special needs child?

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
google the term CPI. See if there are any trainers in your area. Typically this or similar training is what one gets when they work in a facility that caters to that population.