Select a trainer by Lineage?

dan.h

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm very new to this and noticed there are 2 schools in my city for Wing Chun. One doesn't specify if he's of a certain lineage while the other one says that he is 3rd gen Walter Jakimczuk Lineage. One has a pretty informative website but takes forever to get back to me with any questions I have, while the other (lineage: Jakimczuk) responds immediately with answers but a not well maintained site.

Would you go with the sifu who has a set lineage or the other guy?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Lineage does not mean good or bad nor does the lack of it. Go check out the schools and see what you think. Check out some books on Wing Chun and see how the schools compare

In my area there use to be 2 Wing Chun Schools one smaller and harder to get a hold of the sifu and they have no website. But this sifu is a student of Ip Ching and this is a very good school for Wing Chun.

The other bigger and easier to get a hold of the sifu, has a website and he is in the Moy Yat lineage and I would not go there for free. Nothing against Moy Yat lineage I just don’t think it is a very good school based on the students and teacher.

Gurokevin

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I believe Xue Sheng has a point. Lineage does not matter much, and you can not really judge a school by a website or them replying to your email fast. Go there and check them out. Take a few classes from each of them and then decide.

Just a couple things to be considered when looking for a school.
1. Simple, direct, efficient style. No BS or endless sequences of techniques.
2. Don't go to a school that views Chi Sao (sticky hands) as sparring. Its a drill, not sparring. You need to do real sparring.
3. Clear and concise answers when you ask a question. Don't let them say something like "I will tell you that in a few years or so".