round house kick

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
I think there is two way of do the roundhouse kick: a) not turning too much the body (pivot foot turns not much than 90º) and b) just turning the body (the pivot foot turns more than 90º).

For me doing the roundhouse kick in a) is good for reach the stoach area, however if I want to kick higer I need to do kick in b).

Also it seems to me I kick harder using the full turn of the body but it's not as quick as doing the a) form of kicking.

What do you think? How do you do the round house kick?

Manny

jthomas1600

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Manny, being a relative beginner I can't comment on which is correct, but here are my thoughts/observations on this subject. Option b) as you described it seems to have the most benefits. You can kick higher and harder as you pointed out and I also find that I have more reach (I can make contact from farther away) when I kick like that. The only advantage I see to option a) as you described it is it doesn't take me out of my preferred fighting stance as much and I'm able to retract my foot quicker so I'm not as vulnerable to counter attacks. My goal is to be able to throw the round house kick with a full pivot and hip rotation and be able to bring it back quickly and smoothly but right now I'm not quite there.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I think there is two way of do the roundhouse kick: a) not turning too much the body (pivot foot turns not much than 90º) and b) just turning the body (the pivot foot turns more than 90º).

For me doing the roundhouse kick in a) is good for reach the stoach area, however if I want to kick higer I need to do kick in b).

Also it seems to me I kick harder using the full turn of the body but it's not as quick as doing the a) form of kicking.

What do you think? How do you do the round house kick?

Manny