Renaissance Faire, anyone?

Swordlady

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've been collecting swords for about ten years, but didn't discover this wonderful place where you can actually wear swords in public, until a couple years later. I attended my first Ren Faire in Mt. Hope, PA back in 1998, and have been going at least once a year to either the PA or NY Faire (in Tuxedo Park) ever since. I've been frequenting the NY Faire over the past couple years (haven't been to the PA Faire since 2004), since I've been going with some friends I met on SFI. Not only that, the NY Faire has cooler stuff. ;)

Anywho...here are a couple pics taken at the Faire yesterday. Of course we dressed up for the occasion. There were two other guys who came with us (I was the token chick - lol), but they weren't in costume and declined to be photographed. I'm just glad that it wasn't 100 degrees:

Attachments

• $Peter-Chris-Jen 640.jpg
    $Peter-Chris-Jen 640.jpg
    156.4 KB · Views: 155
  • $Jen knight 640.jpg
    $Jen knight 640.jpg
    138.1 KB · Views: 185

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Your costume is awesome Jennifer! Very cool! :ultracool

lenatoi

Green Belt
Reaction score
Looks like you had fun. I love the Ren Fest.

BrandiJo

Master of Arts
Reaction score
i love going to the ren fair but iv never done costumes

OP
S

Swordlady

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks, guys and gals. :) Faires are a lot of fun, but coming in costume definitely adds more to the experience. Especially if you are also carrying a sword. :D Many of the Faire goers put a LOT into their costumes. One of my SFI buddies put together this Aragorn outfit - right down to the proper necklace and ring. He got mistaken as a Faire employee quite a bit.

I've accumulated quite an extensive Ren Faire wardrobe over the years. All warrior woman garb, of course. I wouldn't want to be caught dead wearing a corset. ;) And I don't like wearing dresses.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member