Question from a non TKD person

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Okay, I have had no experience with Tae Kwon Do what so ever. Part of that is because of the 'mcdojo' stigma that seems to be so frequent with TKD. I know that it's only a broad and unjust generalization. As TKD practitioners how do you deal with the mcdojo stigma? Do you thnk with TKD being in the Olymics will help alleviate this problem?

Like I said I've not had any experience with TKD and I'm just trying to see this from a TKD perspective. I hope I've not offended anyone as that is not my intent.

-Josh

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
dubljay said:
Okay, I have had no experience with Tae Kwon Do what so ever. Part of that is because of the 'mcdojo' stigma that seems to be so frequent with TKD. I know that it's only a broad and unjust generalization. As TKD practitioners how do you deal with the mcdojo stigma? Do you thnk with TKD being in the Olymics will help alleviate this problem?

Like I said I've not had any experience with TKD and I'm just trying to see this from a TKD perspective. I hope I've not offended anyone as that is not my intent.
-Josh
Unfortunately, TKD has MORE than its share of McDojangs, although Kenpo is working really, really hard on catching up with its own McDojos. However, when you find good TKD - it is great. Some of the finest martial artists on the planet study TKD. Unlike some MA, you CANNOT be out of shape and practice TKD at a high level.

Actually, the Olympics, IMHO, exacerbated the problem in many ways. It's been nearly twenty years since the intro. of Olympic TKD and things have gone from bad to worse.

Since you live in Sacramento, I'd advise you to check watch one of Andy Ahpo's advanced classes. Sure he's Tang Soo Do, but you'll get an idea of how good Korean kicking styles can get. I was blown away after watching some of his seniors years ago.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni