Psychologist seeks research

CaffeineKing

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a psychologist (academic) based in Leeds (United Kingdom). I've dabbled in martial arts myself when a little younger (very basic Aikido) but my hearing isn't great and I now wear hearing aids - which hampers my sporting activity a bit... I've maintained my interest in martial arts though, but these days I'm interested in chronic conditions (e.g. arthritis, depression etc.) and why some people cope and some don't. More importantly, can we take people who don't cope, train them in a different way of thinking, and help them cope??

I thought I'd join you all, perhaps join a few discussions, and maybe even get a little research off the ground. I think martial arts *may* be a great way to help others. Besides, with many arts formally grading, there's a sense of progression that might let itself to scientific measurement. Who knows, I may even get back into martial arts again. I'm just about to turn 35, and while I'm not overweight, I'm badly out of shape!!

Anyhow, that's for the future. For now, I'd like to say hello and wish everyone all the best with whatever they're doing.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome, and happy posting! :wavey:

Sounds quite interesting - please do post any results you come up with, if any.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to MT, you are just down the A1 from me! I'm up in Catterick. do please give me a shout if we can help, I know a fair few MMA/BJJ people around your way if that helps?
You are very welcome to come and visit! We do TSD as well as MMA.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome aboard, CK.