Professional Athletes training routines

d1jinx

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
lets face it... I am not a professional athlete. Neither are any of my students or 90% of those who train in TKD or any other MA. But the habits and routines can be used for all of us recreational athletes. So I watch and learn what i can, picking up different methods and techniques along the way.

I learned the Ice bathe thing from Football. Boy that really helps preventing muscle soarness after strenuous workouts.

I was watching the Mayweather/Marquez 24/7 on HBO. Decent show. I like watching shows like that cause it gives a look at how the Pro's train. Marquez has a training ritual that went a little too bizzare for me.

Besides the drinking raw quail eggs.... whatever... not new... He drank his urine after he finished his hard workout. DISGUSTING. :barf: I understood the theory behind it, our body doesnt accept most of the vitamins, minerals and suppliments we take and flushes is out through the urine... but he drank it saying " its dumb to waste all the vitamins and minerals that our body needs". Are you serious? are vitamins and minerals that expensive for a Pro Athlete? WOW. But it shows how people from other cultures look differently at things that we do... and how serious some pros take training.

On another note... after a hard workout, he went to an oxygen chamber and sat for a while breathing pure oxygen... that sounded interesting... I wonder what effects that has on the body and the recovery stages after a workout?
I have came into work the next day after drinking and turned the oxygen on and breathed pure oxygen before to get rid of my headache and hangover. But those effects were shortlived and only seemed to make a difference while breathing the pure oxygen. Shortly after turning it off, it would all come back making me feel miserable again. So either I didnt breathe it long enough or it doesnt work... Any input?

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member