Poway Samurai Martial Arts

blink13

Green Belt
Reaction score
Greetings, all.

I have the opportunity to train with Tony Whetstine at Poway Samurai Martial Arts in Poway, California (near San Diego). It is a Jinenkan school.

http://www.powaymartialartsschool.com/

Does anyone have any experiences or information that they could share with me? Thank you for your time.

OP
B

blink13

Green Belt
Reaction score
I could expand this a bit, I suppose.

I am a total newbie to this. However, some research in the Martial Talk forum (like the big box at the top of this forum's page) and elsewhere have explained the differences between the X-Kans and the other styles. There hasn't been much explanation of the differences between the X-Kans themselves, though.

Can anyone chime in on this, please? Thanks.

Regarding formality in class, we have been bowing in/out formally and I appreciate how the Sensei required the Sempai to show me various things such as tying my belt properly - though she is about 16 years my junior. I appreciate the respect he afforded her as the senior student that day, while also requiring her to do the work her status required of her. As a Marine, that appeals to my sense of bushido (RHIP/RHIR, if you know what I mean).

I'm also looking forward to going to/from class on my motorcycle... bokken on my back. California drivers, take notice!

On an unrelated topic, I am really enjoying these forums. I'm like a sponge right now - trying to soak up everything! Thanks!

amitchell

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Dave,

My name is Adam Mitchell and I run the Jinenkan New York Dojo. I found your post here and thought I may be able to help with your question. But first, welcome to training!

You mentioned that the Dojo you are training at "is a Jinenkan school."

Please visit the Jinenkan Honbu Dojo website for a list of all Jinenkan Dojo authorized to teach by Unsui Sensei.

http://www.jinenkan.com/ennew/dojo.html

I've known Tony for a while and he's a nice guy.