Posture/Form names

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
There is another post here on MT that hit on the importance of posture names to the style. And my background is Internal CMA and in general I have always felt that the names of the forms where important, but I tend towards tradition so I would likely feel that way. But reading through the other post I began to wonder does knowing or not knowing the names of the forms matter when it comes to being a good teacher of the style.

My gut reaction says yes, if you do not teach the form names then you are not teaching the style, but that lead me to another thought. If knowing the form names is an indication of someone’s ability to teach than there are an awful lot of people out there that can recite form names, particularly in Tai Chi that would have to be considered, at least in part, good teachers. And I can tell you from personal experience that is NOT the case. An awful lot of people teaching Tai Chi light know the names of the forms and as a matter of fact when I use to teach I handed out a sheet with the names of all the postures that made up the forms so my students would know the names. But after they learned only 24 and knowing the names does that make them a good teacher? I think not.

When I trained Long Fist and Bagua for that matter I never learned the names, but if I had asked my Sifu he likely could have told them to me. I did run into a name issue with him once in a form but it was more of a translation issue from Mandarin to English than not knowing the name.

Also I now train non-sport Sanda (Sanshou) and I bet if I did ask my Sifu the names of forms they would translate from Mandarin to English to things like “hitting a tree” “punch in the face” or “high forearm strike” and those are likely the names.

Long way around to a few questions;

1) Do you think form/posture names are important and why or why not?