possibly getting a motorcycle

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
Well, I'm contemplating it. I've not ridden before, so there would be a huge learning curve.

Couple of concerns. For starters, I'm 6'3ish. I don't want a bike that's going to kill my back, so no shrimp-mobile.

I'm not a speed demon by any means, so I don't really care for something that can comfortably drive at 200 MPH.

I don't care for Harley's, especially since I'm a beginner. Too expensive. I find the noise level unacceptable too. Simply does not match my exceptionally quiet persona.

I have a love for militaria, but I've not been able to find any military bikes. Even if I can find one, would they be lower quality or comfort level by default? How do they compare with modern bikes? Anyone know of a good source for purchasing a somewhat modern military bike?

I'm open for suggestions on bike types, as long as they meet the above stated criteria and a reasonable price. Not willing to dump $10k into a bike. Used is quite fun :)

Nolerama

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I know a pretty tall guy in my city who owns a Ural bike for those reasons. I know the company's Russian, but he's got some WWII mods for his Ural. So now he has this killer motorcycle, with side car, that looks like it's from WWII, but it runs smoothly.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well, I'm contemplating it. I've not ridden before, so there would be a huge learning curve.

Couple of concerns. For starters, I'm 6'3ish. I don't want a bike that's going to kill my back, so no shrimp-mobile.

I'm not a speed demon by any means, so I don't really care for something that can comfortably drive at 200 MPH.

I don't care for Harley's, especially since I'm a beginner. Too expensive. I find the noise level unacceptable too. Simply does not match my exceptionally quiet persona.