please tell me what's the best chinese martial art between..

cyb62

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi to everyone, i'm brand new in here :)

I'm going to a martial art academy in China for a year but i don't know anything about chinese martial arts.. I practised 8 years of karate kyokushinkai and 2 years of capoiera but i never practised any chinese martial art.
In this academy, i can choose between
-shaolin
-xingyi
-qigong
-bagua
-tanglang
-baji
-sanda
-taiji

I first said that i wanted to practise shaolin but i saw on tv some wing chun and i just loved it.. So what in this list of martial arts would be the best to be able to defend oneself in the street?

Thank you very much for your answers...

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Let's see. It looks like you've got the three internal arts in that list: taiji, bagua, and xingyi. I'm no expert, but I've only ever heard of these three as being internal, so I'm guessing the rest are external. If you're looking for self defense, I would suggest choosing an external art. You can certainly use internal arts for self defense, but the learning curve is steeper -- it's a longer process to becoming an efficient fighter in an internal art. External arts tend to have more obvious applications and I think it's easier to learn how to use them for real fighting. I'm not familiar with everything in your list, so I don't think I could suggest something specific. I think that Shaolin will, or can, cover a lot of stuff though, so you might want to find out what type of Shaolin the school offers. Hopefully others will be able to provide more help, but I hope this is of some use to you. Good luck with your choice.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score