Our McDojo Sister

T

TKDKid

I have a bit of a problem, and I wonder if I could get some advice from those of you who are wiser than I.

We recently gained a new student at our Dojang. She came from one of the two other Tae Kwon Do schools in our town. As it is, she came from the one with the reputation of being a McDojo. At my school it takes five years to earn a black belt, we know at the one she came from it takes somewhere around a year.

When she came to our school she told our instructor that "I don't spar with other women because I'm too powerful." She also told my instructor that she got kicked out of her old school for getting all up in the instructor's face. She's the same rank as I am, which is pretty advanced, I've been practicing for about four years. The woman has no technique whatsoever. She doesn't even demonstrate a basic knowledge of power exchange.

I've sparred with her once. When we spar, we spar light contact. We don't use power so as to protect the other practioner, but we still make our strikes touch so they know where they're open. When I fought her she was all charge with wild swings, showing no respect to the strikes I got in on her. Which were many. After class my instructor told me that she had warned our new student that however hard she fought was how hard she was going to get it back, and she told me I should do what I needed to in order to make her respect me.