One Year as a Karateka

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I just realized that I've been a student of Isshin-Ryu for one year.

In one year, lots has happened to me.

I've contracted diabetes and sarcoidosis. The diabetes is under control and the sarcoidosis requires no treatment, it will cure itself they say.

I've lost 50 pounds (in two months, as a side-effect symptom of the diabetes before it was diagnosed and treated).

I've joined a health club and started running again (three miles a day on the treadmill, takes me about 45 minutes. OK, I'm old and slow).

I have progressed from white belt to orange belt and learned three katas (Sanchin, Seisan, and most of Seuichin).

I have made friends who feel like family, who care about me and miss me if I am not in the dojo, people I see and socialize with outside of the dojo, and I even am trying to find a house within driving distance of the dojo so I don't have to change if I move.

I've discovered MT and made friends here.

I've got a long way to go, but I'm in no hurry. It's not the destination, it's the journey.

Semper Fidelis, Namaste, and Domo Arigato!

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
It's cool to hear how karate has woven its way into your journey. Some people really dis the practice of doing a martial art for personal growth, but I think that it's not only possible to possible to grow into a better person, it's inevitable. Even the Bubishi is explicit about this. The martial artists of old knew that what you were doing would change who you were.

OP
Bill Mattocks

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score