Olympic style sparring vs. traditional TKD: why all the fuss??

Daniel Sullivan

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
On quite a few threads here and on other MA boards, I see this subject come up whenever taekwondo is discussed and particularly with the Olympics having just concluded. Those who practice primarily traditional martial arts or non WTF taekwondo take a lot of shots at the olympic style of sparring and some those who participate in it go to great lengths to explain why Olympic sparring isn't a martial art.

I am always a bit bemused by this. As a kendo instructor, I teach an art that has an 'art' side and a sport side. On the art side are forms, step sparring, and in our school, elements of iaito and kenjutsu. On the sport side is a fencing style characterized by a bamboo sword and protective gear with limited target areas and limited selection of techniques. Nobody complains that the tournament style is in some way not a martial art or is somehow inferior to the martial art side. It is simply a part of kendo and kendoka have no issue with it. Those who do not have an interest in sparring either focus on the forms and step sparring or seek out a school that is entirely 'art' (such as an iaito school), and have their respect for the sport kendo. The kendoka have their respect for them. No issues.

So why is it that WTF/Olympic style sparring is often such a hot button? Is there some reason that it isn't looked upon in a similar fashion without the animosity I sometimes see towards it? I have seen it called everything from silly to garbage, which I personally find a bit extreme, when a simple, 'it's not for me' would do just fine. While I think that it has its flaws, what doesn't? I've also noticed that bad behaviour by some of the athletes has been used as on opportunity in various places to say that the sport should not even exist.