Old Masters/New Students

RavenDarkfellow

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am an informal student of 9 years in the martial arts, and a yellow-belt in Tracey's Kenpo, a 5th-generation student.

I find myself frequently envying those of you who were able to train with the old masters, wondering what they're like, and wishing I could bask in the wisdom they could depart to me. Unfortunately, however, this is something I shall never know, as the old masters are very busy (especially in their moderate fame) and many are no longer teaching/dead (I'm not just talking about in Kenpo, by the way).

I was especially saddened to learn of Master Parker's passing, as I will now never get the chance to meet him, much less train under him. I am still young, and haven't the money to move somewhere to live near any of the Traceys to train under them, and I will likely never meet them either.

In a sense, I feel somewhat slighted in that I'll never be able to meet the old masters, the founders of our wonderful art (or of ANY of the established arts). I'm not saying that the modern "masters" or senseis aren't good enough, and I certainly mean no disrespect to my sensei-- he's a great instructor, and an incredible martial artist, and I have nothing but respect and deference for him. Yet, as most younger/newer martial artists, I won't have the opportunity to train with the "orriginals".

I guess I'd just like to know, what was it like learning from those masters? How did you meet them? Why did you choose them/ they choose you? Why is it that their arts stood out from all the others? Could you see their knowledge/wisdom/power in the way they moved? The way they acted?