"Ninjitsu As The Ultimate Martial Art"

Kane

Black Belt
Reaction score
Anyone seen the national geographic documentary "Fight Science"? They claim that ninjitsu is the ultimate martial art because it combines all forms of fighting (striking, grappling, submission, archery, explosives, sword, dagger, balance, ect.) into one art.

Is this generally considered true? I personally still think "There are no superior styles, only superior individuals" but I've heard a lot about ninjitsu's supposed superiority. I've never done it though so I'm not sure.

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've just started training in a Bujinkan Dojo so I'm no expert in Ninjutsu by any means, but if anything put it above other arts as far as self defense goes, it would be the firearms training required at the higher levels.

And I wouldn't put too much faith in the conclusions of that show.

Just my opinion,

Jeff

OP
K

Kane

Black Belt
Reaction score
JeffJ said:
I've just started training in a Bujinkan Dojo so I'm no expert in Ninjutsu by any means, but if anything put it above other arts as far as self defense goes, it would be the firearms training required at the higher levels.

And I wouldn't put too much faith in the conclusions of that show.

Just my opinion,

Jeff

The show was pretty good in that they measured powerful martial art techniques. But yea, no one claim a martial art as the best. I personally disagree with them saying katana is the ultimate sword. A good ol' European longsword can be just as good if not better.

I can however maybe accept Jeet Kune Do as an ultimate martial art since its principles are based on you individually prefer. Sorry for going a bit off-topic there.:)

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Nimravus said:
There seems to be some sort of a misconception floating around here...
Well, that's what my instructor told me. It could just be a local thing here.

Jeff

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score