Newbie Mistake?

steerpike7

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I just discovered this site today and decided to join.
I have a brother who used to do Aikido and leant me a book about it years ago and it always appealed to me. I have been carrying a lot of weight for a few years but have recently lost it and took this opportunity to finally take up a martial art. ( I did wado-ryu briefly when i was about 20 - I'm now 36).
I really fancied aikido as it is non-contact and i loved the philosophy of it all. Anyhow my brother stopped doing it ages ago and I found you really need two people to progress and since my husband is wheelchair-bound this was pretty impossible so I just left it at that.
About sept 2006 a GKR rep came to the door and we signed up mainly because they are inclusive and i didn't know of any other club that would take a wheelchair user.
I've recently run into a few forums online and noone has anything positive to say about it so I am very worried as I have paid for a years tuition for my hubby and myself and am thinking after a year to switch to a more respected style, but then will they be inclusive.
I must admit from what I remember of Wado-Ryu the classes were more structured and disciplined, but I was really desperate to get into martial arts and needed a big confidence boost after all the weightloss.
I graded to yellow belt before Xmas without really knowing 1st kata and am still not 100% on it so maybe what everyone is saying is right. I also had to look up on line how to tie my belt properly.
I really do enjoy the classes and it is making me fitter and more flexible but I don't want to spend years learning this beautiful art the wrong way. Any suggestions of inclusive styles would be very much appreciated. Sorry for the extremely long first post.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score