New to MARTIALTALK

karatemom3

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello, I am honored to be part of this forum with artists in so many styles from all over the world. I started training 20 years ago while in my mid thirties; First in Soo Bahk Do, next in Tae Kwon Do, then Kempo and currently Tang Soo Do. I left SBD and TKD after reaching my 2nd degree because there were no adults other than instructors training regularly. I loved Kempo but could not get enough classes in with the schedule. I am now eligible for my third degree in TSD but having a hard time with the physical training. As long as I am training and enjoying it, is it okay to just stay a second degree? Joan

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am honored to be part of this forum with artists in so many styles from all over the world. I started training 20 years ago while in my mid thirties; First in Soo Bahk Do, next in Tae Kwon Do, then Kempo and currently Tang Soo Do. I left SBD and TKD after reaching my 2nd degree because there were no adults other than instructors training regularly. I loved Kempo but could not get enough classes in with the schedule. I am now eligible for my third degree in TSD but having a hard time with the physical training. As long as I am training and enjoying it, is it okay to just stay a second degree? Joan

Welcome to MT. I'm sure you'l enjoy it.

Of course it's okay to stay at your current rank. Many people choose not to promote, for a variety of reasons. If you're okay with your current rank, then who is to say you have to promote?

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Depending on what your looking for, rank is superficial. Oh, you may learn to put a few more techniques together, but no one can take away what you already have in knowledge. Welcome to MT...............

Yondanchris

Master Black Belt
MT Mentor
Reaction score