new here

lyn

White Belt
Reaction score
Don't know whether I introduced myself before. I'm Lyn Carceo from Massachusetts. I studied kenpo for a few years, under the Nick Cerio system, ending with a brown belt. I have been relearning kenpo as much as possible by myself, going back over forms and techniques. I am also studying boxing (working with a heavy bag) and Brazilian jiu-jitsu (only through videos, notes, and practice, no actual school). Keeps me busy.

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome aboard lyn, how is it working for you doing your Kenpo by your self?

OP
L

lyn

White Belt
Reaction score
I kept pages of notes when I was training in the dojo, and that's helping, as well Prof Cerio's textbook, but the rest has to be memory. The problem with being by myself is filling in the gaps, plus no one to practice techniques on and with. Doing the best I can.

kuniggety

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Why aren't you practicing at a school? While I agree there is a lot you can learn on your own, there is much you can't. BJJ in particular, it's all about feel.

OP
L

lyn

White Belt
Reaction score
No school near me, and no money to pay for one if there was one. Besides, with my age and all that goes with it, no school would take me. I's be an insurance liability.

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
No school near me, and no money to pay for one if there was one. Besides, with my age and all that goes with it, no school would take me. I's be an insurance liability.
??? I've never been at a school with an upper age limit for students. I'd teach a 90-year old if one wanted to learn.

ShawnP

Blue Belt
Reaction score