need your imput about starting a special program

tradrockrat

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello all.

I've been gone from the site for a bit now, but I've been lurking and reading every once in a while. Thing is, I've been really busy getting ready to move halfway across the country and start my own MA School.

The input I need from you guys is this- I've been teaching special needs students for 5 years. I am a credentialed special ed teacher, and I have a lifetimes experience with special needs from my family. My sister is Autistic, my younger adopted brother is motor impaired and ADHD as well as legally deaf and blind in one eye (yeah, I know), and I am ADD myself.

Along with traditional MA classes, I plan on offering a series of MA based programs designed around specific learning disabilities. One program will be for Autistic children with gross motor impairments. Motor function issues are relatively common among autistic children and I have develped a program witht the help of the Adaptive PE teacher at my job. It's based upon Tai Chi movements and uses a lot of manipulatives (actual objects such as beach balls for example) to develop left / right, top / bottom coordination. Despite the last year of development and preperation I have yet to find any established programs specifically designed for special needs students. I'm talking about ADHD / ADD, Motor Impaired, MR, physically disabled, Autistic / Aspergers, and even ED populations

I have come across many schools that have either learned to work with these populations through trial and error, or in some cases actually sought training AFTER they find themselves with special needs students in order to better teach them. This is great and I applaud them for this, but is it possible that there is NO program in existance designed for a specific population like this?