muay thai or bjj?

davidGeddes

White Belt
Reaction score
i was thinking of starting muay thai and bjj or should i just start one just now as i have never done any martial arts before?

edudley

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Both.

I started with Muay Thai for two months to get into shape and just started to add BJJ to my training program. I think both offer a martial artist a very well rounded skill set. I enjoy the physicalness of both styles and in my opinion they compliment each other very well.

Again just my opinion.

Tanaka

Purple Belt
Reaction score
i was thinking of starting muay thai and bjj or should i just start one just now as i have never done any martial arts before?
In my opinion(which I will give reasoning for) I think you should choose one first, than the other. By this I mean you should find out which art favors your personality and/or body type. Do you have long legs and arm reach? Are you short body type which give you a low center of mass? Do you favor the image of defeating an opponent with striking? Would you rather be able to get in close and subdue your opponent in a choke or joint lock?
Ask yourself these questions(and more) and find out which one you prefer as what I would call your "CORE" art. Once you find out which one favors you most. Develop a good "core" in this art. Become very knowledgeable and skilled in this art. Wait until you have reached a high level of skill in your core art. Once that is done... you can look to the other as a way to compliment your core art. But still take it seriously though because you do not want to insult your instructor. Gain as much knowledge/skill as you can.

I am not a fan of jumping into two different systems at the same time. I think it will make it harder for you to develop into being a good martial artist.

billc

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score