more weight lifting

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I have decided to increase my weight lifting from one day per week to two days per week. I will also now lower the repetitions so that I fail between 8 to 10 repetitions. This will innervate the "slow twitch" muscle fibres instead of the "fast twitch" muscle fibres. If this means that I will move slower, that is okay.

I have been lifting one day per week for a few months and have confidence that my connective tissue is now ready to take heavier weights, lower repetitions. This will be done to become bigger, more handsome, not to become faster. Any strength gained will only be seen as an extra benefit. This is to be ready to have "The Gun Show", --> to look like the movie star.

I will not take any kind of supplements at all, though. My diet will remain the same. I am sure that I will still see big gains. Also, of course, I will not use any kind of steroids, those are totally not needed and dangerous.

Even if I lose some range of motion and become slower with less stamina for punching, that is the choice I make. As far as resistance training for the legs (therapeutic work for the knees -- leg extensions and leg curls) -- they will still be done with high reps, for safety's sake.

Right now, I do this:

Therapeutic:
leg extensions -- 3 sets
leg curls -- 3 sets

Upper body:
Machine press -- 3 sets
Lat pulls -- 3 sets

I will ADD the following:
Military press -- 3 sets
Seated rows -- 3 sets

I WOULD isolate the triceps and the biceps as well, to get "The Guns", but, my deltoids group is small. I then become misshapen. Also, the exercises mentioned above DO exercise the arms a little. I am sure that I will eventually have to isolate the arms -- curls and tricep extensions.

I am excited about this, because I am lifting bigger masses now! And, I maintain control through all of the motion, I can feel my upper body gaining strength, no joke!

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni