Mirrors or no mirrors?

AMP-RYU

Black Belt
Reaction score
That is the question! Do you rather teach with mirrors in your school or no mirrors? I would like to hear what others think.
icon6.gif

thank you

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I don't teach, but as a student I find mirrors to be helpful for self correction.

Korppi76

Green Belt
Reaction score
I usually teach without mirrors because I have learned to teach places where wasnt mirrors. Now a days I have noticed that it helps in some techniques to see your self in mirrors... usually I tell people to see themself on mirrors when I have said about same thing few times :)

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
That is the question! Do you rather teach with mirrors in your school or no mirrors? I would like to hear what others think.
icon6.gif

thank you

Both. The school I train at has mirrors. I think they're great, as it gives the student another view. However, for those backyard, garage, basement workouts, no mirrors.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Both for me I like them, for a new student I find them to be a distraction at times.

KempoGuy06

Grandmaster
Reaction score
not a teacher but as a student i find them very helpful. if my instructor tells me im doing something incorrectly but it feels correct to me and can watch him do it then watch myself in the mirror and see where im making my mistakes

B

14 Kempo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Mirrors. For the most part, they help a student see what the instructor sees. For those times when they may be a distraction, turn the student around, away from the mirrors.

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mirrors are very helpful for self correction although we also purposely will train at times away from the mirrors to avoid getting to used to always having to look in the mirror.

TallAdam85

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score