Massage Therapy & Kenpo

W

warrior.mama

I am a massage therapy student and a kenpoist of 7+ years. As I work with martial artists, I am finding that massage seems to be helpful to martial artists in dealing with injuries, overly tight muscles and stress. I know there are also other ways that massage benefits martial artists and I would like to hear your experiences.

I would like to hear your stories on how massage therapy has helped you (or hasn't helped you) in your kenpo journey.

If you have anything to share, please post or you can email me directly at [email protected].

Thank you. I look forward to hearing your stories.

warrior.mama

OP
G

gravity

I'm a Kenpo student (4 years). Last year I went to Thailand and trained in Muay Thai and every other day there I was having traditional massage (many refer to it as passive yoga).

I found the massages enabled me to train for longer periods and recovery was faster.....it also helped in streching the muscles and improving flexibility. In fact I'm heading back to Thailand again for MT this month and am gonna join a 30 hour traditional thai massage course (based on traditional thai medicine).

Arthur

Blue Belt
Reaction score
kempo is not my martial art, but massage (and shiatsu, Sotai & Chinese medicine in general) have helped my martial arts tremendously. In the martial art I currently do (Russian Systema), we sometimes talk of massage as being 30% of the art.

My massage skills and knowledge help my sensitivity, my ability to listen to the others body through my hands. It helps me to understand where their areas of tension and resistance are. It gives me a background in functional anatomy and kinesiology, which help me to understand movement and perhaps more importantly efficient movement better.

I can learn new movements quicker and more correctly because of my knoweledge base, but can read and understand the partner/opponent better because of the skills.