martial arts/self defense,is it worth it?

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
there is an aspect about training in the martial arts and self defense that i have thought about for some time now that i would like all of your thoughts on.it has to do with why a person should put in all the time that it takes to get good at an art when the likelihood is that you will never have to use it is really there.it almost makes the training seem not worth it.
let me explane where my thought process is coming from.im a drummer and i practice the drums so that i can be better for performing.i know that when i practice that i am going to be able to go all out with my drumming skills when im playing in a band.the band is the pay off for me slaving away in the practice room for hours,days,months and years.i know that i am going to be able to display all of my hard work when i join that band and record a cd and start playing live with that band.but in the study of martial arts and self defense a person my never get the chance to really use the skills that they have worked so hard on.and then there is the fact that a person should not long to get into a fight on the street anyway.but it's a natural tendency to want to put into practice in some way what we have learned.to do this in a sport context does not fill that void because of the rules that are in the sport world of fighting.this keeps a person from being able to fully use the skills that they have worked on.also,if a person focuses most of their attention on sport fighting then i feel that when in a street fight they will not naturally use some of the most effect techniques that would put an attacker out of commission,like groin shots,eye gouges,ect.
so to sum it all up what im asking is why spend all the time and effort and money to become skilled in the martial arts and self defense when we may never be able to use it or at least use it to it's fullest extent?
i look forward to your replies.

IWishToLearn

3rd Black Belt