Making students responsible for education

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Here's a thought... let's make the students responsible for their education. As a teacher, I am wholeheartedly behind this woman's position; I've seen far too many students who can't be bothered, and who spend their time disrupting those who do want to learn.

It's time we put some responsibility back on the students

I just read the following in an education e-newsletter, the ASCD SmartBrief: "Some 7,000 high-school students drop out of school every day, at a cost to society of $209,000 per student over their lifetimes. "Between 20 percent and 42 percent of graduates require some remedial coursework before moving on to college-level work, and 60 percent of manufacturers say recent entry-level hires were unprepared for the work they were hired to do.
"The question facing educators and business leaders is: What can be done to reverse this trend?"
Well, I know one thing we can do.
Let's put some responsibility back on the student.

...Even the poorest schools are full of information, and people who are ready, willing, and able--aching, actually--to teach a student who wants to learn. It makes teachers nearly weep with frustration to see bright, capable, talented children slide lazily along, refusing to partake of the bounty of knowledge that is offered to them.
...I'm fed up with the steady drumbeat from partisan groups that continuously, relentlessly, incorrectly, and nauseatingly bash the public school system in America, as if educators are solely to blame for low test scores.
We have sold the children in this country a bill of goods that says they are responsible for nothing, it is our duty to spoon feed them, if they don't like the system we'll change it, if they screw up we'll cover for them, and everything will be handed to them.