Low Carb Diets Help in Many Ways!

Freestyler777

Blue Belt
Reaction score
For a long time I scoffed at Dr. Atkins, having been brainwashed by the people at the acupuncture school that I studied at that vegetarianism was best. But based on my own experiences, low-carb (not ketogenic) diets are the easiest and healthiest way to lose weight. I don't know how its done, but it works somehow, and my anti-meat zeal proved to be totally errneous. Low carb makes people healthy.

BrandiJo

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Could you provide some examples of why vegetarianism wasn't right for you and how low carb is better? I have heard many conflicting reports on the issue, so if you have personal experience i would really enjoy the reading.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just as a cautionary note, my father's doctor put him on the Atkins diet some years back. He lost a significant amount of weight... but when he started putting carbs back in his diet, he began experiencing blood sugar problems; seems that adding carbs back in triggered a latent problem with diabetes, which he is still dealing with today, 5 years later.

In addition, his doctor did not limit him to lower fat proteins, and contrary to many reports otherwise, his cholesterol soared... despite lower blood pressure caused by the weight loss, my father experienced a silent heart attack, diagnosed about a year later, which required balloon angioplasty to repair damage to the veins.

I'm not saying limiting carbs is bad - but do be careful about how you do it, and make sure your doctor actually knows how to advise you properly; my father's doctor jumped on the weight loss bandwagon, and missed some significant negative side effects that have had a lasting effect on my father's health.

OP
Freestyler777

Freestyler777

Blue Belt
Reaction score