Losing the Fire

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
Ive been practicing MA for going on 28 years. There have always been peaks and valleys, that's only natural. But I've been in a funk for a while now that I can't shake. I'm on the verge of quitting. But I know that if I do I'll regret it. I think about taking a break, but I hate the thought of losing ground.
One thing that keeps me going is I'm teaching my sons, plus a handful of others. But to be honest, I think the fire may be gone. I keep thinking to myself that "you are 46 years old, why are you still doing this?????"

Has anyone else out there gone through this? Advise please.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ive been practicing MA for going on 28 years. There have always been peaks and valleys, that's only natural. But I've been in a funk for a while now that I can't shake. I'm on the verge of quitting. But I know that if I do I'll regret it. I think about taking a break, but I hate the thought of losing ground.
One thing that keeps me going is I'm teaching my sons, plus a handful of others. But to be honest, I think the fire may be gone. I keep thinking to myself that "you are 46 years old, why are you still doing this?????"

I think at some point during training, we've all had those moments where we thought about quitting, thought about changing to another art, or just didn't feel like working out.

IMO, a break is good. Give your mind and body a break. I wouldn't extend the break too long, but a week or 2 wouldn't be that bad.

It sounds like you have the desire to keep going, so I wouldn't give up hope. :)

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score