Kyukido insight needed

Mr G

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Greetings to you, and thanks for your time.
I am new to Martial Arts in general and also to new to this forum. My 8 year old son and I have started training a Dojong in Amery, WI. Amery is a small town, so they are really the only game in town but I feel really fortunate. The instructor is excellent and I enjoy the workouts.

I'm confused about Kyukido. It is a hybrid of TKD, Hapkido, and Judo. There doesn't seem to be much buzz about this style.

How does Kyukido fit into the rest of the Martial arts world? Why mix two Korean styles with one Japanese style. How much history does Kyukido have?

Thank you if any can expand my understanding.

iron_ox

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello Mr. G,

A very simplified explanation (and I mean VERY simple) is that all three are at heart Japanese styles - with little or a lot of modification. TKD is a direct uptake on Shotokan Karate (and some other styles - depending on Kwan), Hapkido is derived from the teaching of Takeda Sokaku, and Yong-In University is renowned in Korea as "the Judo (or "Yudo") College".

I would say that Kyukido is not much spoken of in wider circles because it is really in its infancy as a style. The group is fairly regional (with some outlying dojang) - and generally it takes one thing to drive a new group into prominence - money - so unless lots money getting spread around, chances are things will grow slowly.

There are organizations that are younger and much larger, but they tend to promote "bolt-on" styles (things that can be added to the curriculum of any school) - and from the look of Kyukido, this is not the case.

Far more importantly, if you enjoying the training, and it is building a training bond with your son, don't worry to much about buzz - lots of times "buzz" can be a bad thing.

Greg King

Green Belt
Reaction score